Mean Kids

What is it about picking on someone?  Why is it easier to critize than compliment?  Why be snarky when you can just be quiet?

As I’ve grown older, my hair has gotten darker.  I was a tow-head when I was younger and have been a natural blonde most of my life.  Over the last 20 years I’ve gone from an ash blonde to a non-descript brunette shot through with gray.  I decided I’m not going to grow older gracefully, so I made an appointment with my hair stylist and had my hair colored back to an ash blonde and had a few highlights added and had it cut in a bob.

I like it.  My husband likes it (not that it matters – it’s my hair!)  But some of the church folks have been downright ugly about it.  “What does your husband think?  Did he give you permission to do it?”  “I’m sure a person your age should do that.”  (My age is 53, thank you very much).

It’s not like it’s a big change.  And changing my hair color doesn’t change me.  I’m still the same person you’ve known for four years.

Were you a mean kid in school?  Did you find enjoyment in picking on others who didn’t think the same as you?  What are we going to do when someone REALLY different comes through our church doors?  Are you going to pick on them too?

 

About moseyingthrough

Self. Spouse. Mother. Nana. Clergy. Pastor. Progressive. Feminist. Child of God. That about sums it up.
This entry was posted in Crap, Ministry. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mean Kids

  1. Brittany says:

    Came across your blog via RevGals. As someone who has recently colored her hair back to her “roots” (kind of) and is fighting the gray tooth and nail, I say go for it! Do what makes you happy and do it with gusto! I am always amazed at how rude people can be and half the time I don’t think they even know they’ve been rude! It does make it worse when it’s the church people being mean.

Leave a Reply

