Full Circle

I attended a funeral this morning that Hubby and his Associate Pastor officiated.

I knew the deceased.  I know his wife.

Our paths first crossed 15 some years ago at my first appointment.  They were visiting one of my parishoners and we met and had a good visit.  I saw them from time-to-time when they were down.

Fastforward about seven years.   A new appointment.  His home church.  His family.  His mother’s was the first funeral I had at the new church.  His “little” sister is a good friend.  Just before the end of my time there, he has a massive stroke and isn’t expected to live.  We pray.  He does and recovers somewhat.  Not able to walk, but able to communicate coherantly and respond appropriately.

We move to our present churches.  Hubby becomes his pastor and walks with him and his wife through most of the recovery process.

Last Wednesday, Jesus called him home.  Today, I wept with his family as we remembered why God had placed him in our lives.  And I renewed friendships again.  Almost full circle.

About moseyingthrough

Self. Spouse. Mother. Nana. Clergy. Pastor. Progressive. Feminist. Child of God. That about sums it up.
This entry was posted in In Memorium, Ministry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

