Reflections

Our daughter phoned last night to ask about something she has to write for a course in her Master’s program.  She is a consummate writer having been an English major in her undergrad studies.

“Mom, I have to write a reflection paper and I want to bounce something off you.”

“OK, Chook … but you already know how to write reflection papers, correct?”

“Yeah, but this one is kind of different.  The prof wants to know how I decided to be in this Master’s program.  It can only be 3-5 pages.  But I can’t write it without giving it some context … because my background formed me into who I am.”

“OK????” Stretching it out into a question.

“I mean the way I was brought up had a profound influence on my life.  You and Dad taught me the importance of faith, honesty, integrity, and most of all, compassion.  You helped me realize that God’s purpose for my life is to make a difference in the world around me.  I can’t write this paper without sharing what got me up to this point.”

Wow.  I guess a reflection paper is not just a self-reflection paper.  It’s a life-reflection paper.

Hub, you and I did do something right.  Our lives and the God we serve are reflecting right now.

Praise be to God.

About moseyingthrough

Self. Spouse. Mother. Nana. Clergy. Pastor. Progressive. Feminist. Child of God. That about sums it up.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

