Friday Five

Songbird writes:

If you’re ever in a jam, here I am. If you’re ever in a mess, S.O.S.
If you’re so happy, you land in jail. I’m your bail.
It’s friendship, friendship, just a perfect blendship.
When other friendships are soon forgot, ours will still be hot.

I’m thinking a lot about friends these days, the ones who rush to you in times of trouble, with a casserole or a socket wrench or an invitation for coffee or lunch or a trip to the foot sanctuary. We meet friends in school or on the playground or at church or in the workplace and even on the Internet. Even as blogging has experienced some decline, the community here has been strong.

For today’s Friday Five, some questions about friendship.

1) Who is the first friend you remember from childhood?

The first remembrance of a friend was my godsister,  Cindy,  whose parents owned the farm across the road.  We were inseparable for about twelve years until our families had a falling out.  We just reconnected last year on spacehook.
2) Have you ever received an unexpected gift from a friend?

Many.  I have a lot of good friends who are known for surprising me with things they know I enjoy.
3) Is there an old friend you wish you could find again? Or have you found one via social media or the Internet?

High School friends!  I moved away from my hometown right after high school.  I’ve lost touch with them, but thanks to the interwebs, we’ve reconnected again.  Hurray for the interweb!!!!!
4) Do you like to get your good friends together in a group, or do you prefer your friends one on one?

I prefer the personal touch.  I like doing lunch, going to the theatre, walking in the woods … with a friend.  That way I can give them my undivided attention and really speak with them.  When my friends and I get together, I’m the one wearing the lampshade and dancing on the table sober.
5) Does the idea of Jesus as a friend resonate with you? 

 Yes.  He’s a very close friend that I can pour my heart out to without worrying about confidentiality, being offensive or allowing a gutteral, primal scream to come out from the depths of my soul.

Today, I give thanks to God for my friends!

About moseyingthrough

Self. Spouse. Mother. Nana. Clergy. Pastor. Progressive. Feminist. Child of God. That about sums it up.
This entry was posted in Friday Five. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friday Five

  1. Songbird says:

    I love your description of crying out to Jesus.

  2. Jan says:

    Nice! I identify with your take on close friendships.

Leave a Reply

