Flipping God the Bird

Yeah.  It’s been that kind of day. 

I was called to referee a fight conflict between the church secretary and one of our “senior” members.  Good Lord!  Senior Member got down, dirty and personal.  She talked smack about Secretary, me and just about everyone else.  She threatened to leave.  I told her to do what she had to do; that if she chose to leave I would understand and that i wouldn’t miss her. 

Honestly, I don’t think she will leave.  She has too much at stake to pack up and move on.  If she went elsewhere, she wouldn’t have the clout she has here.  Trade off.

Sadly, I am allowing her personal opinions to get to me tonight.  This is a dying church.  Their younger members leave and just don’t come back.  They go to the church down the road which is healthy, fun, loving and gracious. The older folks have a stranglehold on this one.

Besides this and a few other things on the church’s agenda, I’m flipping off God today.  I have no idea why I’m in ministry.  I’m a seasoned pastor – been in ministry for over 20 years, but I’m sure getting tired of this crap.  I think I could be happy unchurched.

I’m going to revise my resume and send it in to a secular company.  Who knows?  I may get an interview and a new career path.

About moseyingthrough

Self. Spouse. Mother. Nana. Clergy. Pastor. Progressive. Feminist. Child of God. That about sums it up.
This entry was posted in Crap. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

