In Memorium

My friend died this morning.  She was 42 years old and had lived with a rare form of stomach cancer for two years.  She had the greatest spirit of anyone I know and did not want to die.  She wasn’t afraid of dying, she just wasn’t ready yet.

We knew several weeks ago that the end would be coming sooner than later.  The docs had exhausted everything they had in their arsenal and sent her home to be in familiar surroundings and surrounded by folks who love her.

I went to see her last week.  She told me she was afraid that the end was very near.  I told her to take Jesus’ hand when He came for her and to go with Him.

She cried.  I cried.  And I felt horrible for making her cry.

At the conclusion of our visit, she was sitting up and changing the tape on her ng tube.  She hugged me and thanked me for coming to see her.  She told me, “I had given up there for awhile, but I’m ready to live again.  I’m going to keep on living until I die.”

I cried the whole way home.  I felt so bad for trying to comfort her and assume that that is what she needed … assurance.  She just wanted permission to live.

Anyway, it’s over.  Thank you, Jesus for coming and taking her hand and welcoming her into the Kingdom of Heaven.

I love you, dear friend.  I will never forget you.  Thank you for another lesson learned.

About moseyingthrough

Self. Spouse. Mother. Nana. Clergy. Pastor. Progressive. Feminist. Child of God. That about sums it up.
This entry was posted in In Memorium and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

